What Is Disorderly Conduct in Wisconsin?
Disorderly conduct in Wisconsin can be two things. It can be a criminal charge or a ticket. A ticket is not a criminal charge. Disorderly conduct in Wisconsin occurs when someone acts:
- Unreasonably Loud
- Otherwise Disorderly
However, it must be the type of behavior that would normally cause a disturbance.
What are Some Examples of Disorderly Conduct in Wisconsin?
Disorderly conduct in Wisconsin often occurs when two people get into an argument. For example, if a husband and wife are yelling and name-calling. The police will often charge one or both people with disorderly conduct. Most importantly, the police have discretion. The police can charge disorderly conduct as a crime or as a ticket. A ticket is not a criminal charge.
Another example of disorderly conduct is a physical fight. For example, when two people are physically fighting. The police often charge both people with disorderly conduct.
What Is the Penalty for Disorderly Conduct?
Disorderly conduct is either a class B misdemeanor or a ticket. The maximum penalty for a class B misdemeanor is 90 days in jail and a $1,000 fine. The maximum penalty for a disorderly conduct ticket is a fine of $1,000.
Importantly, disorderly conduct can be charged as an act of domestic abuse. Domestic abuse can be charged if a crime is committed against a family member or significant other. A conviction for domestic abuse can cause you to lose your gun rights.
How Do I Fight a Disorderly Conduct Charge in Wisconsin?
If the police charge you with disorderly conduct, contact a criminal defense attorney. Often, a criminal defense attorney can get your criminal charge reduced. Also, self-defense can be used to defeat a charge of disorderly conduct. And, the First Amendment freedom of speech can be used to defeat a disorderly conduct charge.