Do I Need a Racine Sexual Assault Lawyer?
Yes. If you are charged with sexual assault or any other sex crime in Racine, Wisconsin, we can help. Racine sexual assault lawyer Christopher Glinski has a track record of success defending clients against sexual assault charges and sex crimes charges, including:
- A jury finding his client NOT GUILTY of a charge of 2nd Degree Sexual Assault;
- A prosecutor DISMISSING 3 counts of 2nd Degree Sexual Assault prior to trial; and
- A prosecutor amending a charge of 3rd Degree Sexual Assault to a charge of Disorderly Conduct prior to trial based on information Attorney Glinski was able to uncover through investigation.
Don’t face this alone. If you are facing sexual assault charges (sex crimes), you need an experienced and aggressive sexual assault lawyer to protect your rights and fight for you. Attorney Glinski has been recognized as one of the Top 40 Under 40 Trial Lawyers in Wisconsin. He has years of experience defending against sexual assault charges (sex crimes). He has a Superb rating on Avvo and has been endorsed by many other lawyers.
What Is Sexual Assault?
Sexual assault is a sex crime that involves sexual intercourse or sexual contact with another person without that person’s consent. Wisconsin law classifies sexual assault by degrees:
First Degree Sexual Assault
– The most serious degree of sexual assault.
– It requires sexual contact or sexual intercourse with a person without consent; and
- pregnancy or great bodily harm results;
- a dangerous weapon is used or threatened to be used; or
- the person who commits the sexual assault is helped by one or more people and violence or the threat of violence is used.
-It is a class B felony, which means the maximum penalty is 60 years imprisonment.
- Conviction for First Degree Sexual Assault requires lifetime sex offender registration.
Second Degree Sexual Assault
- Requires sexual contact or sexual intercourse without consent; and
- use or threat of use of force or violence;
- injury, illness, or disease results;
- the “victim” is unconscious; or
- the person who commits the sexual assault is helped by one or more people.
- Class C felony, which means the maximum penalty is 40 years imprisonment and a $100,000 fine.
- Conviction for Second Degree Sexual Assault requires lifetime sex offender registration
Third Degree Sexual Assault
- Requires sexual intercourse or sexual contact with a person without that person’s consent.
- Class G felony, which means the maximum penalty is 10 years imprisonment and a $25,000 fine.
- Conviction for Third Degree Sexual Assault requires 15 years of sex offender registration
Fourth Degree Sexual Assault
- Requires sexual contact with a person without that person’s consent.
- Class A Misdemeanor, which means the maximum penalty is nine months in jail and a $10,000 fine.
- Conviction for Fourth Degree Sexual Assault does not require sex offender registration. The judge may still require sex offender registration, but it is optional for the judge
Racine Sexual Assault Lawyer Advice
Tip #1: Do Not Talk to the Police
If you are accused of sexual assault, the police will often contact you and ask for “your side of the story” or to speak to you to “clear up a few things.” It is almost always a mistake for you to speak to the police without a lawyer. The police are not your friends. The police take sexual assault allegations very seriously and will try to use any statement you make to them against you in court. As soon as the police contact you, politely tell them that you will get back to them shortly. Immediately call an experienced sexual assault defense lawyer like Christopher Glinski at (262) 632-1555. Any time you speak to the police you are free to have a lawyer with you. Or, you can have your lawyer call the police on your behalf and inform the police that you will not be making a statement.
Tip #2: Contact a Sexual Assault Lawyer Immediately
In my experience handling dozens of sexual assault cases, cases can be won or lost in the first few days after allegations of sexual assault are made. This is because evidence such as text messages, Facebook messages, surveillance video, and other things must be gathered immediately or they can be altered or lost. An experienced sexual assault lawyer will know what evidence to gather and how to gather it.
Tip #3: Do Not Contact the Alleged Victim
Often, the alleged victim (the person making the allegations of sexual assault) is working with the police and the police have instructed the alleged victim to record any conversations with you and to try to get you to make a statement that can be used against you in court. I have even seen cases in which the police instructed the alleged victim to contact the person who is accused of sexual assault in an attempt to get the person to make a statement that can be used in court.
Contact Racine sexual assault lawyer Christopher Glinski of Glinski Law Office for a free consultation on criminal defense cases at (262) 632-1555.